Writing exercise: description

I took a deep breath and looked at gate. It was aluminum, gray with age. I think it was original to the house when it was built. It had stood as sentry ever since my parents bought the house.

Decorative scrollwork lined the top in pointless swishes and swirls. My eyes moved downward to the small square labeled ‘Sears’ on the left above the latch. I wasn’t sure Sears sold gates like that anymore. Well, I’d never seen a new one like it anyway.

My hand reached out and my fingers touched the aluminum chain link, felt the diamond shaped hole the stiff metal wire created, felt the pinch where they joined. They were rough, severely weathered, and a sharp nodule nicked my finger and I jerked my hand back and stuck my finger in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

