Halloween Flash

Just a quick flash story the muse gave me. Hope you enjoy.*

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Full moon tomorrow, and Halloween, their devil burn all humans. When the woman had adopted me from the shelter all those years ago, I was a kitten, a know-nothing. Little did I know she was a wanna-be witch messing around with stuff she shouldn’t be. I hope her whole species burns in the human preacher’s hell.

I was all happy to be rescued from the Humane Society, (‘humane’ my fuzzy ass-I was scheduled to be put down the next day) so I cooperated when she brought me to the ceremony that night. At moon rise, they took us out of our cages to put us on the altar. I noticed each one of the thirteen human women had a fuzzy male kitten.

 As she took me out, I saw the full moon majestic behind her. When she put me up on the altar I wouldn’t stay, next thing I knew, she fed me something that made me sleep. The bottle got passed around, I think all of the kittens got the stuff.

Cats are not the most cooperative creatures.

Asleep, I have no idea what in Bast’s name they did to us, but when I woke, I was transformed. Gone was my fur, my pointed ears, my whiskers, my tail. They had turned me into a human.

I cried out in fear.

 

She stroked the hair left on my head and murmured comforting things until I calmed enough to drink some cream that tasted of herbs.

Groggy, with a feeling like I’d had too much cat-nip, we celebrated. We danced. We touched. We kissed. I reveled in it.

Torches rushed into our clearing.

Other humans, with angry faces, carried torches, pitchforks, knives, and clubs to scatter the witches and transformed cats. They struck any they could reach. I smelled blood, scared panic and mayhem.

I ran and hid in prickly bushes until morning,

When I woke, my whiskers, my paws, and oh joy, my tail were back, thank Bast. I danced on four paws for the joy of it all.

A nice old lady in a nearby farm adopted me and I settled down into the typical housecat life. Little did I know I was cursed.

It didn’t happen the next fall, nor the next, but when a full moon came again on Halloween, I felt the change take root and I cried, powerless to change my fate.

I ran out the cat-door and into the woods before my human keeled over from fright. After a panicked cold night in the woods, the next morning in my true form I swore revenge.

Now, I mostly hunt mice on four legs in my proper form. Except on certain Halloween nights, when I walk on two.

It is then that I hunt witches.

 

*Standard disclaimers apply: this is raw wordage with little editing. Your forgiveness for grammar errors and other typos is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

